Kirkus Review (PDF)

“A provocative, readable indictment for our time.”

A sharp prosecution against the former president for the disasters of 9/11 and the Iraq War.

As Christopher Hitchens did with Henry Kissinger, so Markoff does with George W. Bush—without the literary flair, granted, but with every bit of the righteous indignation. In the manner of a prosecuting attorney, Markoff serves a brief that enumerates three kinds of actionable offense. The first is that Bush was criminally negligent in ignoring intelligence, from the moment he entered office in January 2001, that terrorists were mounting an imminent assault on the U.S. homeland. By way of evidence, the collective body of which is drawn from 600 annotated sources, Markoff analyzes the 379 speeches Bush gave between his first inauguration and Sept. 10, 2001, to show that Al-Qaida and/or Osama bin Laden turn up precisely zero times while Saddam HusseinIraq, and/or some combination of nuclear and chemical threats appear 143 times, oil another 41 times. “The numbers above,” writes the author, “seem at least close to courtroom proof that George W. Bush was far more interested in Hussein and Iraq’s oil than the risks to our country from Al-Qaida and bin Laden so often communicated to him.” Markoff’s second charge is that Bush—no puppet of Dick Cheney’s or some other master, he insists, but instead “an enthusiastic participant”—criminally wasted American blood and treasure in going to war with Iraq, at a direct cost of 4,400 American dead and $2 trillion, to say nothing of American wounded and psychologically shattered, along with untold numbers of Iraqi casualties. Bush’s authorization of torture and rendition for torture constitutes the third charge. Throughout, Markoff restrains himself from hyperbole and rhetorical flourish, at least until the very end of the book, when he asks, pointedly, “Did he think he was above the law or did he care?” His answer, that we’ll likely never know, does not diminish his characterization of the offenses as “reckless, dishonest, and tragically unnecessary.”

A provocative, readable indictment for our time.

Sept. 26, 2020

Herzie Santos a.k.a. SheySaints, blogger, content writer, book reviewer, editor, and fiction writer; Philippines

“Before reading the book, I was expecting that it would mostly contain the author’s personal beliefs, but I was totally wrong. This is truly a case against George W. Bush with very strong and shocking quotes and explanations verifying true accounts of criminal offenses committed by the former US president.

I’m giving this book 5 out of 5 stars. It’s the product of years of extensive and scrupulous research on the three crimes committed by George W. Bush. This is highly recommended for its historical significance.”

December 2020

Aisha Bello, Abuja, Nigeria

“The Case against George W. Bush by Steven C. Markoff is a political nonfiction that looks into crimes committed by the ex-president, George W. Bush. The author accused the ex-president of three crimes: Criminal negligence, torture and misleading America into a war with Iraq. He posited that the 9/11 and the 2003 Iraq war should not have happened. He also explained how the ex-president allowed the use of torture on detainees. How could he have let all that happen? Perhaps there was a form of misinformation. A dive into the book will answer these questions. The book is divided into three parts, one for each of the crime supposedly committed by the ex-president. Each part had sources which ranged from speeches to files from Federal agencies and even sourced quotes from published books. It would not be far-fetched that a book carrying such accusations would not be backed by concrete evidence. In addition, these sources were fully referenced at the back of the book. Readers who are interested to research further can easily look behind for these sources. The book is told in 3rd person. This allows the reader to have an overview of what went down. At the start of the book, there was an introduction as to the formats used in the book. This made reading easy and less confusing. A distinctive thing to note is, readers are to decide for themselves, with what the author has presented, whether or not these accusations are true. I like that the author created such an atmosphere because the topic is quite sensitive. Overall, it was an interesting and informative read. There was nothing I found displeasing. I noted no errors. There was also no sexual content due to the genre of the book. However, there were descriptions of torture techniques. There were not at all graphic, but can be sensitive to a few readers. I recommend this thought-provoking read to Americans, having had to go through 9/11 and to lovers of politics, crime and nonfiction. I do not recommend if you are not a fan of nonfiction. Copies of this book can be gotten here. Without much ado, I rate The Case against [George] W. Bush by Steven C. Markoff a 5 out of 5 stars.”

December 2020

Mike Gatto, California State Assemblyman (ret.)

“Before there was Trump, there was GW Bush. One might argue that the latter’s crimes and incompetence desensitized the nation to the former’s. In The Case Against George Bush, Steven Markoff masterfully details, in plain and forthright language, how Bush let the nation down by failing to plan for 9/11 and then taking us to war on pretextual grounds. Skeptical? Don’t trust opinion books? This isn’t one. Markoff makes his case by citing the plain text of public records: sources like de-classified memos; transcripts of hearings; widely disseminated quotations, etc. He weaves together the facts, and allows the reader to make a conclusion. And that conclusion does not reflect well on the Bush administration. Easy-to-read and engaging because of the short blurbs throughout, this book will be cited by historians for generations. A must-read if you want to understand the ‘War on Terror’ and why the U.S. has lost certain credibility overseas.”

December 2020

Pat McNall, former Deputy Chief Counsel, FAA

“I was lucky to receive your book [The Case Against George W. Bush] yesterday, and I love it! I’m particularly impressed by how you wrote it — each point clearly laid out and supported by succinctly stated but well-documented evidence. This made the book very quick and easy to read, and extremely persuasive without being dogmatic. You would have made a fantastic lawyer!”

November 2020

John Kiriakou, Former CIA Counterterrorism Officer and former Senior Investigator, US Senate Committee on Foreign Relations

“Steven Markoff’s ‘The Case Against George W. Bush’ will have a rightful place in the pantheon of the most important studies of the post-9/11 era. This is not just a book that details federal crimes. It’s not a long complaint about a President who ignored the constitutional curbs on his power. It is an immaculately-documented and powerfully-sourced indictment of everything that is wrong with our government. It explains in a quickly-paced, page-turning fashion how a president ceded power to a corrupt and dangerous vice president. And it forces the reader to ask the question, ‘What we were doing when all of this was happening under our noses?'”

November 2020

David P. Barash, professor of psychology emeritus, University of Washington; most recent book — Threats: Intimidation and its Discontents (Oxford University Press, 2020)

“Because of the dangers, outright vileness and genuine lunacy of the Trump years, it is all too easy for us to forget the many crimes of George W. Bush, who in many people’s eyes has begun to look downright benign by comparison. But don’t be bamboozled! W was not only a disastrous president but a genuine (if unindicted) criminal. Thanks to the Herculean efforts of Steve Markoff, the lesser Bush’s many malefactions are at last combined and cataloged in one easily accessed and highly readable format. It’s not a pretty story, but it is definitely an important one, focusing on three major arenas: criminal negligence, direct complicity in torture, and a sickening array of war crimes (both of omission and commission). Read it and weep? Yes. But also read it and be informed about the crimes of the Perpetrator-in-Chief. All the better to be empowered, my dears, to act upon that crucial post-Holocaust determination — Never Again!”

September 2020

Pierce O’Donnell, constitutional lawyer and author of In Time of War: Hitler’s Terrorist Attack on America

“Steven Markoff’s The Case Against George W. Bush is a meticulously documented indictment of President George W. Bush’s criminal dereliction of duty in failing to protect our country from the foreseen 9/11 terrorist attacks, manufacturing justification for invading Iraq in the pursuit of oil, and committing war crimes in approving, and then lying about his authorization of, illegally torturing captives in the so-called War on Terror. With almost 600 sources from government reports and documents, eyewitnesses, and reputable scholars and journalists, Markoff skillfully lays out his case in the best tradition of a brilliant prosecutor. As I savored his compelling narrative, it felt like I was once again reading transcripts from the Nuremberg Trials. If we want to avoid a similar future assault on our historic commitment to humanitarian values, The Case Against George W. Bush is required reading.”

August 2020

Home | Contact

Copyright 2018, 2019 and 2020